About this workshop series

The Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA) is organizing a series of workshops on “Petabytes to Science”, supported by The Kavli Foundation. These workshops aim to identify the highest priority technologies and capabilities required for a broad-based user community to take full scientific advantage of the opportunities in data-intensive astronomy being created by the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST), the Wide Field Infrared Space Telescope (WFIRST), and other massive survey facilities. We also looked at the implications for the workforce, education and public outreach.

This is the current draft document from the second workshop - please contact the chapter authors if you are interested to contribute to potential white papers or express your interest in this Google form.

Workshop I - July 2018 (Chicago)

The first Kavli Petabytes to Science workshop engaged a small group of domain experts on the resources necessary to maximize the scientific returns of the large volume and high-complexity datasets to be produced by AURA observatories in the coming decades.


Adam Bolton, Jo Bovy, Andy Connolly, Ting Li, Nirav Merchant, Nanci Reich, Arfon Smith, David Steuerman, Lucianne Walkowicz, Anne-Marie Weijmans

Workshop II - February 2019 (Las Vegas)

The second workshop was held February 12-14, 2019 in Las Vegas, NV. The aim of this workshop was to discuss important trends and technologies for data intensive astronomy, especially with LSST and WFIRST, and to formulate potential white papers. With a holistic approach, the approximately 30 participants built a single document encompassing several broad categories; this document will be made publicly available in April 2019.


Yusra AlSayyad, Amanda Bauer, Eric Bellm, Adam Bolton, Surajit Chaudhuri, Andrew Connolly, Kelle Cruz, Vandana Desai, Alex Drlica-Wagner, Frossie Economou, Niall Gaffney, JJ Kavelaars, Jamie Kinney, Jeremy Kubica, Britt Lundgren, Raffaella Margutti, Chris Martin, Nirav Merchant, Stuart Mumford, Gautham Narayan, Brian Nord, Dara Norman, Wil O’Mullane, Sanjay Padhi, Josh Peek, Chad Schafer, Meg Schwamb, David Schlegel, Arfon Smith, Alex Szalay, Erik Tollerud, Anne-Marie Weijmans

Workshop III - November 2019 (Boston)

The third workshop will be held in Boston, 6/7/8 November 2019. Read more here →